clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Updated Houston Texans Roster Cuts 2014: Nine Down, Thirteen More To Go

Here's the latest on the Houston Texans' efforts toward getting down to 53 players by tomorrow's deadline. Read and chime in on Battle Red Blog's updated cut list.

We'll always have Denver, Travis.
We'll always have Denver, Travis.
Bob Levey

At this point of the day, we know your Houston Texans have released five (5) six (6) seven (7) eight (8) nine (9) of the twenty-two (22) players necessary to get down to the 53-man roster limit. Rick Smith told us the team would make most of their cuts today, but the Texans do have until tomorrow at 3 p.m. CDT to officially trim the roster to 53. It remains to be seen whether more cuts are coming today, though we do have the following bread crumbs to follow toward roster enlightenment:

UPDATE (4:08 p.m. CDT):

UPDATE (4:44 p.m. CDT):

UPDATES (9:39 P.M. CDT):

UPDATE (10:35 P.M. CDT):

In the interest of giving you a fresh thread in which to comment, I'll put the updated Houston Texans roster right here.


QB: Ryan Fitzpatrick, Tom Savage, Case Keenum

RB: Arian Foster, Jonathan Grimes, Alfred Blue, Ronnie Brown

WR: Andre Johnson, DeAndre Hopkins, Devier Posey, Mike Thomas, Keshawn Martin, Travis Labhart, Lacoltan Bester, Uzoma Nwachukwu

TE: Garrett Graham, C.J. Fiedorowicz, Ryan Griffin, Anthony Denham, Zach Potter

FB: Jay Prosch, Toben Opurum

LT: Duane Brown, Will Yeatman

LG: Ben Jones, Xavier Su’a-Filo

C: Chris Myers, James Ferentz

RG: Brandon Brooks, Alex Kupper, Bronson Irwin

RT: Derek Newton, Tyson Clabo, Matt Feiler, Mike Farrell


RDE: J.J. Watt, Tim Jamison

NT: Jerrell Powe, Ricardo Mathews, Louis Nix III

LDE: Jared Crick, Keith Browner, Jeoffrey Pagan, Julius Warmsley

SLB: Brooks Reed, Jason Ankrah, Chris McAllister

ILB: Brian Cushing, Justin Tuggle, Max Bullough

ILB: Jeff Tarpinian, Mike Mohamed, Akeem Dent

JLB: Jadeveon Clowney, Whitney Mercilus, Quentin Groves

LCB: Kareem Jackson, A.J. Bouye, Josh Victorian, Marcus Williams

RCB: Johnathan Joseph, Brandon Harris, Elbert Mack, Andre Hal

SS: D.J. Swearinger, Shiloh Keo, Eddie Pleasant

FS: Kendrick Lewis, Chris Clemons, Jawanza Starling


PK: Randy BullockChris Boswell

P: Shane Lechler

LS: Jon Weeks

Keep the roster chatter, as well as any updates you read about additional cuts, going in the Comments below.