clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tracking The Houston Texans Roster Cuts 2014: Texans Are Down To 53 Players

Here's the latest on the Houston Texans' efforts toward getting down to 53 players by today's 3 p.m. deadline. Read and chime in on Battle Red Blog's updated cut list and cut tracker.

"NoFlyZone" had too many flags flying, and not enough speed for the NFL
"NoFlyZone" had too many flags flying, and not enough speed for the NFL
Christian Petersen

Friday was a busy day at NRG Stadium, as the Texans released a reported 11 players in their mandatory process to trim the roster to 53.  One of the more anticipated cuts, yet one that really stings in terms of lost investment opportunity, was the release of former second-round pick CB Brandon Harris.  That means today will be equally as busy to wrap up one of the most challenging aspects of the pre-season--shattering the dreams of young men who want to play football in the NFL.  Some of these guys will get picked up by other teams, and some will be signed to the Texans' practice squad.

It was reported yesterday that the Texans made a practice squad offer to WR Travis Labhart if he clears waivers.

Teams can officially start signing players to their practice squad Sunday at 11 a.m. With the real possibility of the Texans repeatedly using their advantageous number one waiver wire position, it is highly likely that they cut below the 53-man limit today in preparation for picking up one or more players tomorrow.

UPDATE (11:54 A.M. CDT):

Here is the updated roster at this point.  Keep coming back to see the latest as we track the Texans' roster cuts throughout the day.


QB: Ryan Fitzpatrick, Tom Savage, Case Keenum

RB: Arian Foster, Jonathan Grimes, Alfred Blue, Ronnie Brown

WR: Andre Johnson, DeAndre Hopkins, Devier Posey, Mike Thomas, Keshawn Martin, Travis Labhart, Lacoltan Bester, Uzoma Nwachukwu

TE: Garrett Graham, C.J. Fiedorowicz, Ryan Griffin, Anthony Denham, Zach Potter

FB: Jay Prosch, Toben Opurum

LT: Duane Brown, Will Yeatman

LG: Ben Jones, Xavier Su’a-Filo

C: Chris Myers, James Ferentz

RG: Brandon Brooks, Alex Kupper, Bronson Irwin

RT: Derek Newton, Tyson Clabo, Matt Feiler, Mike Farrell


RDE: J.J. Watt, Tim Jamison

NT: Jerrell Powe, Ricardo Mathews, Louis Nix III

LDE: Jared Crick, Keith Browner, Jeoffrey Pagan, Julius Warmsley

SLB: Brooks Reed, Jason Ankrah, Chris McAllister

ILB: Brian Cushing, Justin Tuggle, Max Bullough, Chris Young

ILB: Jeff Tarpinian, Mike Mohamed, Akeem Dent

JLB: Jadeveon Clowney, Whitney Mercilus, Quentin Groves

LCB: Kareem Jackson, A.J. Bouye, Josh Victorian, Marcus Williams

RCB: Johnathan Joseph, Brandon Harris, Elbert Mack, Andre Hal

SS: D.J. Swearinger, Shiloh Keo, Eddie Pleasant

FS: Kendrick Lewis, Chris Clemons, Jawanza Starling


PK: Randy BullockChris Boswell

P: Shane Lechler

LS: Jon Weeks

Keep the roster chatter, as well as any updates you read about additional cuts, going in the Comments below.