clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Houston Texans 53-Man Roster Set; Roster Cut From 75 To 53

It appears the first version of the 2014 Houston Texans' 53-man roster has been finalized. See who made the team and who didn't on Battle Red Blog.

I'm shocked he made the team too.
I'm shocked he made the team too.
Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

If my math is right, it looks like our roster cut tracker for your Houston Texans is down to 53 players on the team. Now that the team has reduced the roster from 75 to 53, here's what the current 53-man roster looks like:


QB: Ryan Fitzpatrick, Tom Savage, Case Keenum

RB: Arian Foster, Jonathan Grimes, Alfred Blue, Ronnie Brown

WR: Andre Johnson, DeAndre Hopkins, Devier Posey, Mike Thomas, Keshawn Martin

TE: Garrett Graham, C.J. Fiedorowicz, Ryan Griffin

FB: Jay Prosch

LT: Duane Brown, Will Yeatman

LG: Ben Jones, Xavier Su’a-Filo

C: Chris Myers

RG: Brandon Brooks

RT: Derek Newton, Tyson Clabo


RDE: J.J. Watt, Tim Jamison

NT: Jerrell Powe, Louis Nix III

LDE: Jared Crick, Jeoffrey Pagan

SLB: Brooks Reed, Jason Ankrah

ILB: Brian Cushing, Justin Tuggle

ILB: Jeff Tarpinian, Mike Mohamed, Akeem Dent

JLB: Jadeveon Clowney, Whitney Mercilus

LCB: Kareem Jackson, A.J. Bouye, Josh Victorian

RCB: Johnathan Joseph, Elbert Mack, Andre Hal

SS: D.J. Swearinger, Shiloh Keo, Eddie Pleasant

FS: Kendrick Lewis, Chris Clemons


PK: Randy Bullock

P: Shane Lechler

LS: Jon Weeks

As we've discussed on numerous occasions, it's virtually guaranteed that there will be additional cuts made as the Texans take advantage of their priority position amongst NFL teams on the waiver wire. Nevertheless, congratulations to all who made the team today.

The 22 players who were cut to trim the roster down are as follows:


WR:  Travis Labhart, Lacoltan Bester, Uzoma Nwachukwu

TE: Anthony Denham, Zach Potter

FB: Toben Opurum

C: James Ferentz

RG: Alex Kupper, Bronson Irwin

RT: Matt Feiler, Mike Farrell


NT: Ricardo Mathews

LDE: Keith Browner, Julius Warmsley

SLB: Chris McAllister

ILB: Max Bullough, Chris Young

JLB: Quentin Groves

LCB: Marcus Williams

RCB: Brandon Harris

FS: Jawanza Starling


PK: Chris Boswell

If they don't catch on with other teams, Travis Labhart, Uzoma Nwachukwu, Anthony Denham, James Ferentz, Max Bullough, and Marcus Wiliams would seem to have a good chance to stay in Houston on the Texans' practice squad.  Teams can start signing players to their practice squads at 11 a.m. CDT.

Your reaction to this initial iteration of the 2014 Houston Texans?