clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

J.J. Watt, DeAndre Hopkins Selected To 2016 PFWA All-AFC Team

New, comments

Watt named to All-NFL team and All-AFC team. Nuk makes first trip to All-AFC team.

Scott Halleran/Getty Images

With the 2015 regular season over, the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) have made their annual All-NFL, All-AFC, and All-NFC team selections. Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt was selected to the 2015 All-NFL team. Texans wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins and Watt were selected to the All-AFC team.

Watt has been selected to the All-NFL and All-AFC teams for four consecutive years (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015).

In 2015, Watt finished with 76 total tackles, 57 solo tackles, 50 quarterback hits, 17.5 sacks, three forced fumbles, one fumble recovery and eight passes defended. It was the fourth straight year that Watt had at least 10.5 sacks during the regular season -- the longest active streak in the NFL. Watt (78 games) became the second-fastest player in NFL history to reach 70.0 sacks behind only Reggie White (57 games).

In 2015, Hopkins recorded 111 reception for 1,521 yards and 11 touchdowns. He set franchise regular season records for touchdowns (11). Nuk became the third-youngest player to reach 200 career catches (23 years, 169 days old) behind only David Boston (23 years, 118 days old) and Larry Fitzgerald (23 years, 108 days old).