clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Houston Texans' J.J. Watt Wins Deacon Jones Award

New, comments

Find out what the honor is and why the Texans' All-World defensive end won it.

Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt has been named the winner of the Deacon Jones Award, given annually to the NFL's leader in quarterback sacks.

Watt led the NFL with 17.5 sacks and became the seventh player since the statistic became official in 1982 to lead the league in sacks twice. Watt also led the NFL with 20.5 sacks in 2012.

He reached 17.5 sacks this past Sunday after picking up three sacks against the Jacksonville Jaguars.

Watt said of the award:

"An individual award is never individually earned," said Watt. "This honor is a testament to my teammates and coaches for helping me to be successful each week. I am humbled and honored to receive the Deacon Jones Award and I will always continue to strive toward new heights of greatness."

Watt will be recognized as part of NFL Honors, the NFL's primetime awards show that will air on CBS at 8 p.m. CT on Saturday, February 6th.

The Deacon Jones Award was created in 2013 to permanently honor the legacy of Deacon Jones. Jones was a fixture at defensive end from 1961-74 with the Los Angeles Rams, San Diego Chargers and Washington Redskins, earning unanimous AP all-league honors in five consecutive seasons. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1980.

Chiefs vs Texans coverage