clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 Houston Texans Season Review: Reader’s Choice Awards RESULTS

The ballots are in. No hanging susans are gerrymandering here. Pure Democracy. These are your 2018 Houston Texans Reader’s Choice Awards.

Kansas City Chiefs v Houston Texans Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images

Two days ago I went to the post office. I licked and sniffed the envelopes, putting fresh pink mouthed kisses on each ballot, and sent them away to your homes so you could vote, you could decide on the Houston Texans 2018 Awards. This morning I awoke to a mailbox stuffed and busted. Overflowing with checked boxes from anonymous names and anonymous places. I tallied it all up. And here are the results.

Rick Smith Worst Offseason Decision:

Signing Aaron Colvin 3%

Resigning Alfred Blue 67%

Not signing a top cornerback in free agency 11%

Not investing more in the offensive line 19%

Jacoby Jones Award:

Brian Hoyer 40%

John Simon 47%

Ufomba Kamalu 13%

Play Of The Year:

Jadeveon Clowney’s Strip Sack Of Nick Foles 26%

Vyncint Smith’s Touchdown v. Philadelphia 6%

Justin Reid’s 102 Yard Interception Touchdown Return v. Washington 44%

Lamar Miller’s 97 yard TD run v. Tennessee 10%

Deshaun Watson’s 3rd & 11 Conversion v. Philadelphia 7%

DeAndre Hopkins Tracking Touchdown v. New York (J) 8%

Vince Wilfork Fullback Folly Of The Year:

[NAME REDACTED]’s Almost Frumble 66%

Tennessee’s Fake Punt Touchdown 15%

Tyrann Mathieu Returning Justin Reid’s Fumble Recovery Out Of The Endzone 8%

Indianapolis’s Failed Four Down Conversion 6%

Vance Joseph Playing For A 50 Yard FG Attempt 5%

Masochism Of The Year:

Alfred Blue 2nd & 10 Rush Attempts 8%

Failed Quick WR Screen Passes 3%

Ryan Griffin Pulling On Play Action 3%

Tyrann Mathieu Beat Deep 3%

Shareece Wright Biting Down On Double Moves 83%

DeAndre Hopkins Catch Of The Year:

One Handed v. Jalen Ramsey 8%

Losing His Helmet V. Cleveland 2%

Under The Legs v. Miami 88%

Tracking v. New York (J) 2%

Petey Faggin’s Memorial Most Hated Player:

Every Offensive Tackle 81%

Alfred Blue 2%

Ryan Griffin 7%

Shareece Wright 10%

Battlefighter Of The Year:

Demaryius Thomas 1%

Kareem Jackson 10%

Andre Hal 86%

Juli’en Davenport 2%

Game Of The Year:

Week Four v. Indianapolis 11%

Week Five v. Dallas 60%

Week Eight v. Miami 15%

Week Nine v. Denver 2%

Week Fifteen v. New York (J) 1%

Week Sixteen v. Philadelphia 12%

Rookie Of The Year:

Justin Reid 53%

Martinas Rankin 8%

Jordan Akins 8%

Jordan Thomas 22%

Duke Ejiofor 8%

Offensive Player Of The Year:

Deshaun Watson 24%

Lamar Miller 0%

DeAndre Hopkins 66%

Will Fuller V 10%

Defensive Player Of The Year:

Jadeveon Clowney 23%

Kareem Jackson 8%

Benardrick McKinney 4%

J.J. Watt 65%


Jadeveon Clowney 1%

J.J. Watt 13%

DeAndre Hopkins 63%

Deshaun Watson 23%