clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 Houston Texans Season Review: Reader’s Choice Awards Results

You voted. You decided. Here are the results.

Cowboys v Texans Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

The football season doesn’t end when the Texans lose, but after the Super Bowl. So while the esoteric content subjugates ended their football watching once the Texans were kicked out, we, here, at Battle Red Blog, were continuing to watch football, continuing the important work.

Now, now is the time go back and take a look at the 2019 NFL season. It started with season awards. Yesterday you made your votes. Here are the winners:

Charley Casserly Rick Smith Brian Gaine Bill O’Brien Worst Offseason Decision:

The Jadeveon Clowney Trade: 25%

Not Signing An Interior Rusher: 4%

The Laremy Tunsil Trade: 1%

The Matt Kalil Signing: 18%

Letting Tyrann Mathieu Walk: 52%

Deshaun Watson Play Of The Year:

Eye Gouge Touchdown v. Oakland: 69%

Deep Heave To Kenny Stills v. New England: 8%

Mystical Dumpoff To Duke Johnson v. Buffalo: 19%

Own Redzone Completion To Will Fuller v. New Orleans: 4%

Play Of The Year:

J.J. Watt’s Wildcard Round Sack v. Cody Ford: 48%

Bradley Roby’s Interception v. New England: 11%

Justin Reid’s Goal Line Forced Fumble v. Tennessee: 19%

Justin Reid’s Two Point Conversion Stop v. Jacksonville: 21%

One Hit Wonder:

Carlos Hyde: 41%

Darren Fells: 21%

Barkevious Mingo: 20%

Angelo Blackson (Special Teams Player Of The Month): 13%

Hipster Jersey Of The Year:

Gillaspia #44: 59%

BIG PLAY #52: 17%

Martin #54: 5%

Tunsil #78: 19%

Play Call Of The Year:

Fake Screen Touchdown v. Kansas City: 65%

Yankee Concept (Deep Crosser) Touchdown v. Atlanta: 14%

The Pass Option v. Kansas City: 6%

The Fake Punt v. Kansas City: 15%

Bill O’Brien’s Worst Decision:

The Fake Punt v. Kansas City: 72%

The 4th & 1 Field Goal v. Kansas City: 15%

Yelling At The Fan In The Tunnel: 4%

Not Hiring A General Manager: 9%

Petey Faggin’s Memorial Most Hated Player:

Carlos Hyde: 1%

Bill O’Brien: 19%

Chris Clark: 64%

Aaron Colvin: 16%

Battlefighter Of The Year:

J.J. Watt: 29%

Justin Reid: 41%

Tytus Howard: 14%

Deshaun Watson: 16%

Game Of The Year:

Houston v. New England (2019): 50%

Houston v. Buffalo (Wildcard Round): 36%

Houston v. Kansas City (Week Five): 12%

Houston v. Kansas City (Divisional Round): 2%

We’ve Been Waiting For You (Best Veteran Acquisition)

Laremy Tunsil: 86%

Tashaun Gipson: 3%

Bradley Roby: 11%

Gareon Conley: 1%

Rookie Of The Year:

Max Scharping: 19%

Tytus Howard: 75%

Lonnie Johnson Jr.: 1%

Charles Omenihu: 4%

Offensive Player Of The Year:

DeAndre Hopkins: 9%

Laremy Tunsil: 28%

Deshaun Watson: 62%

Carlos Hyde: 1%

Defensive Player Of The Year:

Justin Reid: 49%

D.J. Reader: 16%

Zach Cunningham: 18%

J.J. Watt: 17%


Deshaun Watson: 78%

Justin Reid: 1%

J.J. Watt: 12%

Laremy Tunsil: 9%