clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

J.J. Watt Named To NFL’s All-Decade Team

Another honor for one of the greatest of all time.

NFL: SEP 07 Redskins at Texans Photo by Juan DeLeon/Icon Sportswire/Corbis/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

J.J. Watt was selected by the Texans with the 11th overall pick of the 2011 NFL Draft. That was nine years ago. After that happened, Watt went on to dominate the 2010s. Including the postseason, Watt started 118 games, had 6 touchdowns, 60 passes defended, 23 forced fumbles, 15 fumble recoveries, 507 tackles, 167 tackles for a loss, 275 quarterback hits, and 102 sacks. He was also named to five All-Pro Teams, selected to five Pro Bowls, won three Defensive Player of the Year awards, and was named Walter Payton Man of the Year in 2017.

Today the NFL announced its All-Decade Teams for the 2010s. Watt of course was named to the team; not only that, he was a unanimous selection.

Here’s the entire squad:


QB Tom Brady*

QB Aaron Rodgers

RB Frank Gore

RB Marshawn Lynch

RB LeSean McCoy

RB Adrian Peterson*

WR Antonio Brown

WR Larry Fitzgerald

WR Calvin Johnson

WR Julio Jones

FLEX Darren Sproles

TE Rob Gronkowski

TE Travis Kelce

OT Jason Peters

OT Tyron Smith

OT Joe Staley

OT Joe Thomas*

OG Jahri Evans

OG Logan Mankins

OG Zack Martin

OG Marshal Yanda*

C Alex Mack

C Maurkice Pouncey


DE Calais Campbell

DE Cameron Jordan

DE Julius Peppers

DE J.J. Watt*

DT Geno Atkins

DT Fletcher Cox

DT Aaron Donald*

DT Ndamukong Suh

LB Chandler Jones

LB Luke Kuechly

LB Khalil Mack

LB Von Miller*

LB Bobby Wagner

LB Patrick Willis

CB Patrick Peterson

CB Darrelle Revis

CB Richard Sherman

S Eric Berry

S Earl Thomas

S Eric Weddle

DB Chris Harris Jr.

DB Tyrann Mathieu


P Johnny Hekker

P Shane Lechler

K Stephen Gostkowski

K Justin Tucker*

PR Tyreek Hill

PR Darren Sproles

KR Devin Hester

KR Cordarrelle Patterson


Bill Belichick

Pete Carroll

Watt joins seven other unanimous selections in Tom Brady, Marshal Yanda, Justin Tucker, Joe Thomas, Von Miller, Adrian Peterson, and Aaron Donald.

The 2010s were Watt’s decade. Every Sunday from 2012 to 2015, we were fortunate to watch some of the best defensive line play the NFL has ever seen. Hopefully Watt can stay healthy we get a little bit more to see in the 2020s.